10 Facts about Russia’s Government

Post On: September 11, 2018

Facts about Russia’s Government tell the readers about the executive power in Russia. The leader of the executive power is the Prime Minister. He or she will be helped by the federal minister and deputy prime minister. The legality of executive power in Russia’s Government can be found on the federal constructional law and Constitution of Russia Federation. The head of the executive branch was at the hand of Russian President based on the 1991 amendment and 1978 Russian constitution. The president also assumed the role as the head of the Council of Ministers of Russia. However, The President of Russia now is not included as a part of Russian Government according to 1993 Constitution of Russia. If you are interested to know more about Russia’s Government, check the following post below:

Facts about Russia’s Government 1: who appoints the Prime Minister?

Even though the Russian President is not a part of the government, the Prime Minister is appointed by the president.

Facts about Russia’s Government 2: the primary executive body

The primary executive body was at the hand of the Russian Council of Ministers after Soviet Union fell off. The structure of Russian government will change when politics is changed. That’s why you need to read the Russian history too.

Russia's Government Facts

Russia’s Government Facts

Facts about Russia’s Government 3: the members of Russian Council of Ministers

The members of Russian Council of Ministers include at least 46 government agencies, five federal services, 16 ministers and more than 69 state committees.

See Also: 10 Facts about Russian Gulags

Facts about Russia’s Government 4: after the reform in 2004

In 2004, a reform, which determined the government duties, was enacted where it consists of five federal services, 17 ministers and 30 government agencies.

Facts about Russia’s Government 5: the asymmetrical federalism

The symmetrical federalism is a common practice in Russian Government. Autonomy has been awarded for some regions. Therefore, the equal treatment is not spread to all regions in the country. Russian has seven federal districts or super regions. They are led by the super governors who had direct order from the President of Russia.

Russia's Government

Russia’s Government

Facts about Russia’s Government 6: the super regions in Russia

The super regions of Russia included Volga, Siberia, Far East, North-West, Central, South and North Caucasus. In May 2000, the super regions were formed.

See Also: 10 Facts about Russian Geography

Facts about Russia’s Government 7: the president of Russia

Do you know the current president of Russia? He is Vladimir Putin.

Facts about Russia’s Government 8: the current Prime Minister

Dmitry Medvedev is the current Prime Minister of Russia.

Facts about Russia's Government

Facts about Russia’s Government

Facts about Russia’s Government 9: corruption

One of the primary issues faced by the Russian Government is corruption. The country took the 131st place from 176 countries in the world according to Corruption Perception Index of Transparency International in 2016.

Related Article: 10 Facts about Russian Girl

Facts about Russia’s Government 10: Anti-Corruption Council

Due to the bad result in the corruption index on the Russian Government, Anti-Corruption Council was established in 2008 to prevent it.

What do you think on facts about Russia’s Government?