10 Facts about the Tanakh

Post On: September 22, 2018

Facts about the Tanakh explain the Hebrew Bible. Have you ever read it before? The Jews call it the Tanakh. It contains the Jewish texts. Many of them are created in the form of Biblical Hebrew. However, you can also find the Biblical Aramaic in the Tanakh. The modern scholars try to gather many kinds of texts so that they can find out the history of the Tanakh. Some of the texts that the scholars learned included the Dead Sea Scrolls, Syriac translations, early Greek texts, and Samaritan Pentateuch. Get other important facts about Tanakh by reading the following post below:

Facts about the Tanakh 1: the fixed Hebrew Bible

There is no exact information related to the fixed Hebrew Bible. It was believed that the Hasmonean dynasty made it fixed. Other scholars had another opinion by saying that the Hebrew Bible was fixed in the 2nd century BC.

Facts about the Tanakh 2: Anshei K’nesset HaGedolah

Have you ever known about Anshei K’nesset HaGedolah? They were considered as the men of the Great Assembly. They had the job to compile much of the Tanakh based on the Talmud. In 450 BCE, they finished the task. Then the content of the Tanakh was fixed.

Facts about the Tanakh

Facts about the Tanakh

Facts about the Tanakh 3: the writing system

An abjad was used as the original writing system in the Hebrew text.

Check Also: 10 Facts about Religion in Brazil

Facts about the Tanakh 4: the number of books

Do you know the number of books in the Tanakh? It has 24 books. A single book is dedicated for the Twelve Minor Prophets. Other books were dedicated for Ezra–Nehemiah, Chronicles, Kings and Samuel.

Facts about the Tanakh 5: The Torah

The Five Books of Moses are known as the Torah. They are also called the Pentateuch. “Chamisha Chumshei Torah” is a term to call the printed edition of the torah. People use the term “Chumash” to call the informal name of the printed edition.

the Tanakh

the Tanakh

Facts about the Tanakh 6: the content of the Torah

The Torah consists of five aspects. They are the Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy.

Check Also: 10 Facts about Religion during Middle Ages

Facts about the Tanakh 7: the second division in the Tanakh

The second primary division in the Tanakh is the Nevi’im. It comes in three main aspects. They are the Nevi’im Rishonim or the Former Prophets, Nevi’im Aharonim or the Latter Prophets and Trei Asar or Twelve Minor Prophets.

Facts about the Tanakh 8: the Former Prophets

Joshua, Judges, Samuel and Kings are the primary aspects elaborated in Nevi’im Rishonim.

the Tanakh Facts

the Tanakh Facts

Facts about the Tanakh 9: Ketuvim

The third primary division in the Tanakh is Ketuvim. It has 11 books. The Psalms, Proverbs and Job are found on the Sifrei Emet or three poetic books in Ketuvim.

See Also: 10 Facts about Rosh Hashanah and Yom Kippur

Facts about the Tanakh 10: the approaches to the Tanakh

Two kinds of approaches are available to study the Tanakh. One believes that it is a human creation. The other believes that it is a divinely inspired.

Do you have any comment on facts about the Tanakh?